Diaghilev Festival of Ballet at English National Opera : Programme 1

11 Jul 2014 – 12 Jul 2014

Les Saisons Russes du XXI siecle

Part of the Russian Season at the London Coliseum, Diaghilev Festival is a collection of Ballets including:

Petrushka premiered in Paris in June 1911. Igor Stravinsky wrote the music and co-wrote the story with Alexandre Benois. A tale of  three puppets, Petrushka, the Moor, and the Ballerina – brought to life during a St Petersburg Fair. Petrushka loves the Ballerina and is angry and hurt when she rejects him for the Moor. The Moor kills Petrushka with his scimitar. At nightfall the ghost of Petrushka rises above the puppet theatre only to collapse and die for a second time.

In 1909 Anna Pavlova, Tamara Karsavina and Vaslav Nijinsky conquered Paris in the Romantic one-act ballet then entitled Les Sylphides. Consisting of four scenes to the music of a polonaise, nocturne, mazurka and tarantella by Frederic Chopin, orchestrated by A.Glazunov, the ballet has no plot, but conveys the mood of reverie and melancholy between dream and reality of a young poet in the world of the Sylphides.

Polovtsian Dances
The Polovtsian Dances, a ballet excerpt from Alexander Borodin’s opera Prince Igor, was one of the highlights of the first Ballets Russes Paris season making its 1909 premiere at Theatre du Chatelet. A one-act ballet choreographed by Michel Fokine, slave-girls and warriors perform the celebratory dances of Khan Konchak’s nomadic tribe. Оригинальный дизайн казино с игровыми автоматами на реальные деньги с выводом на карту сбербанка невозможно спутать с иными аналогичными интернет сервисами. В этом виртуальном клубе царит атмосфера захватывающих эмоций и ярких надежд. Сыграв на деньги, тут можно получить невообразимый куш, просто запустив вращения на случайно увиденном игровом аппарате.

Conductor: Alevtina Ioffe

Artistic director: Andris Liepa